ProductCart E-Commerce Solutions Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ProductCart > Using ProductCart
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Product Pricing as a Percentage of Current Order
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Product Pricing as a Percentage of Current Order

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote alexL-icc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Product Pricing as a Percentage of Current Order
    Posted: 01-March-2010 at 4:56pm
Hi all,

My name is Alex and I am a web developer for a server company called International Computer Concepts (ICC), and we use ProductCart for our online store. We are currently running v3.51 of ProductCart, with BTO and Conflict Management upgrades.

My question is this: we would like to create a product (namely, warranty options) whose price is determined as a percentage of a customer's current BTO order price. For, example, one customer configures a server that costs him $1000. Another customer configures the same server and, because he has added extra hard drives and other hardware, it costs him $2000. ICC, our company, would like to charge the second customer more than the first for a parts replacement warranty because his order included more hardware from the BTO product.

Is there a way to do this - specifically to create a product whose price is determined as a percentage of a customer's BTO order? In the example above, this product - "Warranty - 1 year", would have a price of 10% of the BTO order. So customer 1 would have to pay $100 for "Warranty - 1 year" and customer 2 would have to pay $200 for "Warranty - 1 year".

I have searched the entire Wiki and support resources on your web site and have not been able to find a solution. Does anyone know of a way to resolve this problem? Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Alex L.
Guests View Drop Down