ProductCart E-Commerce Solutions Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ProductCart > Getting Started
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Do you upload/manage client products to database?
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Do you upload/manage client products to database?

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote BlackReefDesigns Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Do you upload/manage client products to database?
    Posted: 09-December-2008 at 6:44pm
Just curious, do you guys (Web Programmers and Designers) typically upload and manage the client's product information initially?  Just wondering if this is something the client should typically take care of after instruction, or if the web designer should take care of it.

Im relatively new to eCommerce website building, and I am having a hard time trying to figure out how much I should or shouldn't do for the client, especially when it comes to adding 1000+ products!!!

Also same applies for setting up their Shipping services, Credit Cart Merchant, SSL, etc.
Joe S.
BlackReef.net
Greg Dinger View Drop Down
Certified ProductCart Developers

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Greg Dinger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09-December-2008 at 7:02pm
Only in cases of stores with a small number of products would I ordinarily upload images and establish product data.  Not that I wouldn't locate resources to provide such a service if my client asks me to do so, but I find that my clients typically are trying to economize and choose to do that work themselves.  Additionally, they will typically understand their products better.  I have certainly assisted with their CSV import activities.