![]() |
color swatch location (apparel add-on) |
Post Reply ![]() |
Author | |
jenbeast ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 30-October-2006 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Posted: 31-October-2007 at 4:44pm |
hmm..looked and there's nothing on this subject yet which means either
no one wants to move the location of the color swatches on the page or it's so easy to do that nobody needs to ask! So I'm askin' - here's the page : http://www.monocase.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp? idcategory=7&idproduct=10 I'd like to move the color swatches to be above the color selection drop- down menu. When I look at ViewPrdCode.asp the code for the swatches seems to be somehow intertwined with the main image. I don't know ASP - I'm just guessing - does anyone know how I could do this? -Stumped in SF ![]() |
|
![]() |
|
sdalan ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 10-August-2006 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
It actually is not too bad. I added <%call ColorSwatches()%> to Sub pcs_ProductImage in viewprdcode.asp to place the swatches above the product image. Made some other changes too, like having the color choice change on rollover since the additional pix work that way. Then made clicking a swatch bring up larger samples. You can check it out on our site: http://www.standoutdesigns.com/store/pc/viewPrd.asp?idcatego ry=10&idproduct=180. The way I tweak viewprd.asp et al is this: I made a copy of viewprd.asp and viewprdcode.asp (plus the layout file and the app-code file). I change the name t something viewprdx.asp and viewprdcodex.asp. Then I change the INCLUDE statements to use the "x" version of things. That way I do not disturb the live asp pages. When it works like I want, I backup the original viewprd.asp file and rename the "x" version to the viewprd.asp. Hope that helps. |
|
![]() |
|
jenbeast ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 30-October-2006 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi thanks for the response. I actually want to the color swatches to be
right above the required color option on the page. Regardless, I don't really understand how or where to just "add" that call ColorSwatches script into ViewPrd.asp. I tried adding it a couple of places and while it's awesome that it does call the swatches - I haven't found the right place to put it. It seems to either totally mess up the code in some places and in others it puts the swatches at the very top of the page-kind of "outside" the layout. Also, it opens the new problem of removing the color swatches from their original location... I understand I'm really out of my league on this stuff and I appreciate the time and effort it takes to really understand ASP and don't expect to get a lesson here. I've been lucky and able to basically understand the code enough to make all the other customizations that I did on this site and I'm happy about that. At this point, the color swatch thing is like a riddle that I'm obsessing about a little! So I really appreciate any pearls of wisdom I can get! |
|
![]() |
|
sdalan ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 10-August-2006 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
I like a good obsession myself! Here is what I think will work for you... In ViewPrdCode.asp, modify the "pcs_makeOptionBox" subroutine. Look for the line below... '// START SELECT After it add call ColorSwatches() If the option name comes right after it, you can add response.write "<BR>" to add a line break. Good luck! - AA |
|
![]() |
|
jenbeast ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 30-October-2006 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Oh man, now you ARE the MAN! Worked like a precious shiny charm! :-D
So thankful! ![]() ![]() |
|
![]() |
|
steveginer ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 06-November-2007 Location: United States Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
hi jenbeast - just visited your site and really think it's great. we're thinking of buying early impact. do you mind sharing the name of your site designer with us? thanks. steve
|
|
![]() |
|
jenbeast ![]() Newbie ![]() Joined: 30-October-2006 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi steveginer - I'm PM-ing you a response since it may be off-topic.
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
|
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |