ProductCart E-Commerce Solutions Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ProductCart > Using ProductCart
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Leaving the https:
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Leaving the https:

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
SharpDataInc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 10-August-2010
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SharpDataInc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Leaving the https:
    Posted: 11-May-2011 at 12:49am

My header.asp file has the paths like this

../../index.html
../../contactus.html
 
Problem is when the user starts a secure session (https:) and then decides to click on a link  (away from asp) it keeps the secured session active (https:) not http:.  So the html page get the security warning because its https: not http:.
 
Is this avoidable?
 
Thanks
SDI
Sharp Data Incorporated
Back to Top
Greg Dinger View Drop Down
Certified ProductCart Developers
Certified ProductCart Developers
Avatar

Joined: 23-September-2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 238
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Greg Dinger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-May-2011 at 12:56am
we make a point of hard-coding our stores, once they launch, so that all links point to fully-pathed HTTP or HTTPS URLs, dependant upon whis is appropriate.  That is the way we avoid the conflict you describe.
Back to Top
SharpDataInc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 10-August-2010
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SharpDataInc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-May-2011 at 7:23am
How do you avoid the security warning in the checkout? At the time of checkout, if there is a hard coded path in the header.asp:

href="http://www.website.com/html/myhtml"

you will get the security warning message box.

Sharp Data Incorporated
Back to Top
cognecy View Drop Down
Certified ProductCart Developers
Certified ProductCart Developers
Avatar

Joined: 18-March-2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cognecy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-May-2011 at 8:06am

Keep in mind that a hard-coded "Link" as you have written it below will NOT cause a security warning.

These security warnings are caused by calling (or inserting into) the current page an object like an image, a .js file, an includes statement with a full path etc.
 
The reason is that while your page is trying to switch to https you are trying to build the page with elements that are not secure.
 
The way to avoid security warnings is to ensure that all objects are referenced using a relative path ... something like:  src="/somedirectory/someimage.jpg"
Mark Shipp
Cognecy Solutions, LLC
Hosting/Design/Customization/Database Migration
www.cognecy.com
www.cognecy.co.uk
Back to Top
SharpDataInc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 10-August-2010
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SharpDataInc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-May-2011 at 8:20am
Ah, yeah its actually the js call that is causing the issue. The html is not the problem. Thanks!
Sharp Data Incorporated
Back to Top
SharpDataInc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 10-August-2010
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SharpDataInc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-May-2011 at 9:00am
What about using Google Translate? An even Authorize.net logo, you are governed by their code for the logo.

Authorize.net
<a href="http://www.authorize.net/"><img
src="http://www.authorize.net/files/PreferredReseller.gif" width="140" height="50" border="0"
alt="Authorize.Net Preferred Reseller" />
</a>

Google Translate
<script src="http://www.gmodules.com/ig/ifr?url=http://www.google.com/ig/modules/translatemypage.xml&up_source_language=en&w=160&h=60&title=&border=&output=js"></script>

I cant have these on the asp pages. I will check with them, I believe they need to support https:, I thought Google did...

Thanks
SDI
Sharp Data Incorporated
Back to Top
Greg Dinger View Drop Down
Certified ProductCart Developers
Certified ProductCart Developers
Avatar

Joined: 23-September-2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 238
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Greg Dinger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-May-2011 at 10:17am
Each of those very likely have an SSL, and changing to HTTPS should be successful.  Just experiment a bit.
 
Keep in mind that once you overcome any objects that are causing the SSL warning, my original comments still apply.  If someone has gone to the "my account" login, or to checkout, and then browses back to the store - you still want to force them back to HTTP.
Back to Top
cognecy View Drop Down
Certified ProductCart Developers
Certified ProductCart Developers
Avatar

Joined: 18-March-2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 8
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cognecy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 11-May-2011 at 10:30am
For the Authorize.net logo just change the link to use https all the time. I checked and this worked just fine.  You can check suspicious elements/objects yourself by just plugging in the source link into your browser address bar with an https.   So your trust seal code will now look like this:
 
<a href="http://www.authorize.net/"><img
src="https://www.authorize.net/files/PreferredReseller.gif" width="140" height="50" border="0"
alt="Authorize.Net Preferred Reseller" />
</a>

NOTE the only part that I changed to https was for the "object" that is being added to your page from an external source.
 
 
As a rule of thumb:  You can build a non-secure page using secure objects ... you cannot build a secure page using non-secure objects.
 
 
I just checked the link for the google translate code and it does not appear the gmodules.com portion (the first URL) will allow you to use https.  The second portion that uses "google.com" will allow https so you could try this in your code:
 
<script src="http://www.gmodules.com/ig/ifr?url=https://www.google.com/ig/modules/translatemypage.xml&up_source_language=en&w=160&h=60&title=&border=&output=js"></script>
 
 
I have not ever used that code in a website but if it is giving you problems after using my modification, you may have to leave that out of your code where the store is concerned.  
 
 


Edited by cognecy - 11-May-2011 at 10:32am
Mark Shipp
Cognecy Solutions, LLC
Hosting/Design/Customization/Database Migration
www.cognecy.com
www.cognecy.co.uk
Back to Top
SharpDataInc View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 10-August-2010
Location: Chicago
Status: Offline
Points: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote SharpDataInc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 16-May-2011 at 8:39am
Thanks, fellas, got some of this stuff cleared away.
 
SDI
Sharp Data Incorporated
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.