ProductCart E-Commerce Solutions Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ProductCart > Customizing ProductCart
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Registry search
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Registry search

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Message
virtualimage View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06-February-2007
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote virtualimage Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Registry search
    Posted: 16-May-2011 at 3:55pm

Hi all,

Our shoppers are finding the gift registry search function challenging.
Is there a way to code the registry search so that there is only one box but the search query will search all of the fields: (cname, clastname, cregname)

Basically if any of the fields match - the appropriate registries are returned.

Thanks very much in advance for your help.

Cheers,

Quinn

Back to Top
DevDuo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17-May-2011
Status: Offline
Points: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DevDuo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 17-May-2011 at 3:18pm
Hi there,

Not sure what version you are using, but you could try the following...

in ggg_srcGR.asp remove the last name and registry name rows.

Rename the label of the first field (cname) to something like Name: instead of First Name.

 You can either do this in the language file or inline.

In ggg_srcGRb.asp populate cname, clastname, and cregname all with the posted cname...

example...
cname=getUserInput(request("cname"),0)
clastname=getUserInput(request("cname"),0)
cregname=getUserInput(request("cname"),0)
emonth=getUserInput(request("emonth"),0)
eyear=getUserInput(request("eyear"),0)


Then change your AND's to OR's for the corresponding variables in the lines where the SQL query is being built, and this should produce an aggregate result set.

Always back up your files before modding. The above was not tested, but should work in theory... proceed as such...

Take care...
Ted





Edited by DevDuo - 17-May-2011 at 3:21pm
Back to Top
virtualimage View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 06-February-2007
Status: Offline
Points: 29
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote virtualimage Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-May-2011 at 9:17am
Thanks, Ted.

We tried something along those lines  but we were receiving every entry from the registry. I'll give it another shot from scratch and post my results. Thanks, again.

-Quinn
Back to Top
DevDuo View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie


Joined: 17-May-2011
Status: Offline
Points: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote DevDuo Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26-May-2011 at 10:35am
Probably just an issue with your use of AND and OR.

You may need to group some conditions, example...

WHERE active=1 AND (name='frank' OR lastname='jones')

-Ted


Edited by DevDuo - 26-May-2011 at 10:47am
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.047 seconds.