Google Sitemap question |
Post Reply | Page 12> |
Author | |
Rick_N
Groupie Joined: 11-August-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
Posted: 25-January-2012 at 11:43pm |
I recently updated my site and after testing the new sitemap file that I generated I am getting duplicate URL issues.
My changes were cosmetic but I may have inadvertantly left a stray tag somewhere.
A typical URL when I generate my Cat Navigation looks like this:
Google sees it as the same link, however it also recognizes the following URL as the same
although it is listed in the sitemap file as the first URL.
Both URLs work on my site, and show the same product. If I put my old sitemap back up everything is OK. The one differnece is the old sitemap uses the following URL:
Somehow that 3 in front of p289 has been added to all the products. Any idea why I would have two different URLs pointing to the same item?
Thanks.
Rick
|
|
Rick_N
Groupie Joined: 11-August-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
OK, so I think I have a better understanding of what is going on. Under my old files, it would appear the category ID was never attached to the SEO link, in this case p289, and now it is attached, as in 3p289.
From the code I believe the category ID is supposed to be removed since the product can belong to multiple categories. pcSeoLinks was never changed so any other ideas before I look at that file again?
Post was edited after reading pcSeoLinks.asp
Rick Edited by Rick_N - 26-January-2012 at 12:29am |
|
prillo
Newbie Joined: 30-June-2011 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I have seen this as well but unfortunately do not have an answer. I have a similar problem with duplicate URLs appearing within one set of sitemaps. Identical product, two links, like this: ...blue-dress-185p39413.htm ...blue-dress-500p39413.htm This would indicate two different categories. Any idea where I can see a list of the categories with their assigned numbers? Rick, did you leave up your old sitemap? Or maybe you are going to manually edit as needed, then use your custom one instead? I'm asking because I need a strategy as well. The first time I created a sitemap, ProductCart created SiteMap.xml, SiteMap1.xml and SiteMap2.xml. About 6 weeks later I regenerated the sitemaps and it made four this time, to include SiteMap3.xml. All but one of the Sitemaps has 10,000 URLs in them. We do not have this many URLs on our site (probably 6,500 at max, excluding search possibilities). So we have a ton of duplicated URLs. Rick you mentioned that there should be no category added when the item's in multiple categories. I checked this as well under pcSeoLinks.asp at comment: 'Build Canonical URL Link So why are we getting duplicates in the sitemap? I guess the sitemap generator isn't using this canonical link when it makes its list? On a similar topic, I noticed (1) that the <lastmod> references a date that's not actually the creation date/last edited date of the various pages, and (2) the <changefreq> is a blanket one, same for every link. This is not valid for our pages and another reason to manually create this and/or look for a different generator IMHO. |
|
Rick_N
Groupie Joined: 11-August-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Well what is happening with me is a little different. I still do not know why, but for some reason I think I removed a line of code that may have to do with the NOFOLLOW clause.
My siteMap.xml is generated correctly. I get the right amount of entries, and no duplicates. But when Google reads the sitemap it says this is a duplicate URL on my website. Remove it then resubmit your sitemap. Although it is an error on the google dashboard, the sitemap is still showing as OK from google's perspective. Although it's not good to have duplicate URL's. What google is finding is 2 products on my site, one with the category ID attached and one without. I can access both these products just by adding or removing the category ID This link: http://www.eveningsecrets.com/lingerie/pc/2pc-Lycra-Mesh-Babydoll-3p2514.htm points to the same product with this link: http://www.eveningsecrets.com/lingerie/pc/2pc-Lycra-Mesh-Babydoll-p2514.htm My cat nav displays the format of the first link, but in the XML file it is stored as the second link format. Even when I tried some changes with the code that builds the navigation to make the XML file the same as the cat nav links, google still sees it as duplicate products. Everything was fine for me before I made the new webdesign. Changed a lot to CSS and I think somewhere I removed a nofollow link, if that makes sense. Or at least that's what I think I did. Basically I am going through all the files I backed up before the change to see what is different. Could take a while :( |
|
Rick_N
Groupie Joined: 11-August-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
OK, I found a fix for my problem.
Based on the table that genGoogleSiteMapA.asp references to build it's product links for the SiteMap.xml file is categories_products. The query uses a DISTINCT clause to seperate the unique values. After exporting the results I looked for duplicate product ID's, which I found. Each duplicate product ID had it's own unique category ID attached to it. So far so good.
The query loads the number of returned rows and uses that in it's count to loop through the results.
At one point the link is generated with the following line of code
LOCALtmpBody=LOCALtmpBody & "|$|" & removeChars(pcArr(2,i) & "-" & "p" & pcArr(1,i)) & ".htm|-|"
Since the results returned from the query included both product ID's they were generated in the link building process. If you look at the line of code no category was being attached before the "p", whereas in the pcSEOlinks.asp file the category ID is attached, via parameter pIdSeoCat.
I edited the line of code in genGoogleSiteMapA.asp to include the category id:
LOCALtmpBody=LOCALtmpBody & "|$|" & removeChars(pcArr(2,i) & "-" & pcArr(0,i) & "p" & pcArr(1,i)) & ".htm|-|"
Once done I checked for duplicate ID's. None. Resubmitted to Google and not one duplicate found.
My concern is now I am generating the same product in two separate categories. Is this good or bad for SEO? To me everything seems to be working the way it should be. Anybody see any problems with this fix?
Thanks. |
|
prillo
Newbie Joined: 30-June-2011 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Hi Rick,
It sounds like you solved the initial problem, that Google was seeing duplicates when it said remove them & then resubmit. But now it seems like you have the same (potential) problem I do, as you added category codes to each link. This makes sense in order to differentiate for Google, but as you said, your concern now is that you list the same product in multiple categories, like we have: ...blue-dress-185p39413.htm ...blue-dress-500p39413.htm Is this an issue to Google? I don't know, but I don't think it's ideal. Why not just reference the canonical version of the page (no category refs in links at all)? I will dig around in genGoogleSiteMapA.asp and see what could work toward this end. Edited by prillo - 05-February-2012 at 10:26am |
|
prillo
Newbie Joined: 30-June-2011 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
How about this as a potential/quick fix...
When you go to generate the sitemap, use the feature that allows you to exclude certain categories: Categories Select categories that should be excluded. To improve performance, you can limit the amount of categories included in the map. To select the categories that you would like to exclude from the map generation process, click on any of the categories shown in the Exclude These Categories field. Keep the CTRL key on your keyboard pressed to select multiple categories. This only works if you have a clean way to include/exclude categories so that you can get one complete list easily. It also seems less than best *if* the categories you do select aren't showing the canonical version. Maybe you could do this once, and then strip the categories out with Find/Replace in a text editor? Edited To Add: I tried to generate a new sitemap, it said it's successful, but the sitemaps remain unchanged on my server (domain.com/store/SiteMap.xml, SiteMap1.xml, etc). I have a local copy and bytes are identical. Hmmm... I think I will submit a support ticket and see what can be learned. Edited by prillo - 05-February-2012 at 10:43am |
|
Rick_N
Groupie Joined: 11-August-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
I understand what you are saying, I think, but if I have product A listed in Cat A and B, and I exclude Cat B, then I would lose all other items in that Cat(B).
I think what I can do is use an instr function in the code to look for the same product ID, if it finds one already, skip it and move on to the next. That way only one URL is being generated when listed in multiple categories. I'll let you know what I come up with and send you a copy and see if it works for you as well. |
|
prillo
Newbie Joined: 30-June-2011 Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
The instr idea seems like it would work.
I was wondering if you had items exclusive to some categories (i.e. excluding Cat B would mean skipping data elsewhere). Too bad that wouldn't cut it. I thought it would for me, but as edited above, I am not getting any new sitemaps generated via the wizard. Strange. |
|
Rick_N
Groupie Joined: 11-August-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
Post Options
Thanks(0)
|
Yes, as an example, my category Leather Lingerie carries all types of Leather lingerie only, but some are listed in Babydolls, so if I exclude Babydolls so the Leather stuff isn't included there, than everything else that was listed in Babydolls would be excluded, if I understand what you are saying correctly.
|
|
Post Reply | Page 12> |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |