ProductCart E-Commerce Solutions Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ProductCart > Search Engine Optimization
  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Brand Names & SEO URL
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Brand Names & SEO URL

 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
Message
GreggS View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06-February-2012
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GreggS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Brand Names & SEO URL
    Posted: 06-February-2012 at 3:10pm
1st post...1st time using ProductCart.
 
Spent a lot of time figuring out how to get the Keyword SEO URL's to work and for the most part its working ok.
 
Content pages show up ok.
/About-Us-d2.htm
 
Category pages show up ok.
/Clearance-Overstock-c81.htm
 
However the Brands pages don't show up ok. If I'm in the viewbrands.asp page and click on a brand i get this...
/showsearchresults.asp?IDBrand=72&iPageSize=12&pageStyle=
 
If I'm on a product page and I click on the brand name link I get this...
/showsearchresults.asp?IDBrand=72
 
I remember having to go into certain files and changing a little code for this to work.  Is there something I'm missing? Or is this how brands will show up.


Edited by GreggS - 06-February-2012 at 5:13pm
Back to Top
Greg Dinger View Drop Down
Certified ProductCart Developers
Certified ProductCart Developers
Avatar

Joined: 23-September-2006
Location: United States
Status: Offline
Points: 238
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Greg Dinger Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 06-February-2012 at 3:17pm
The current code does not support SEO-friendly URLs for brand search results, although you are correct, it would be great if it could.
 
404.asp and pcSeoLinks.asp are the scripts that represent the core of the SEO-friendly URLs.  If you have a comfort level with code, those are the files to attack if you want to try to implement logic to make this happen.
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest
Guest
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 07-February-2012 at 6:50pm
Hi GreggS,

The thing is, brands don't actually have pages. Products, Categories and Content Pages have pages -- and therefore content that can be use for effective SEO. They also have custom meta tags. Browse by Brand (viewbrands.asp) has a page, but brands themselves don't have a page; the links are just a link to search results.

To be effective for SEO, you'd need more content than just a search results page with a "pretty" or "keyword-rich" URL.

That being said, yes, 404.asp could be tweaked easily enough to server.transfer to showsearchresults.asp and capture the brand ID from the URL.
Back to Top
GreggS View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06-February-2012
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GreggS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 09-February-2012 at 12:05pm
Thanks for the responses.  I didn't realize that the brands pages were search results and not actual pages.  I'm probably going to make a category link with all the brands.

Edited by GreggS - 28-February-2012 at 3:36pm
Back to Top
GreggS View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06-February-2012
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GreggS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 02-April-2012 at 1:04pm

I just noticed something while testing our site.  Our current setting for displaying products is

  • 5 rows 3 columns (15 products at a time)
  • high price listed first

When browsing products by brand that has more than 1 page, the first page shows up ok, but when i click on the 2nd page it switches to low price.

This doesn't happen when browsing products by the categories we set up.  Everything works fine there.


Edited by GreggS - 02-April-2012 at 1:06pm
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest
Guest
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 03-April-2012 at 6:58pm
Originally posted by GreggS GreggS wrote:

I just noticed something while testing our site.  Our current setting for displaying products is

  • 5 rows 3 columns (15 products at a time)
  • high price listed first

When browsing products by brand that has more than 1 page, the first page shows up ok, but when i click on the 2nd page it switches to low price.

This doesn't happen when browsing products by the categories we set up.  Everything works fine there.

Yep, there's a bug in here. To fix this, open /pc/inc_srcPrdQuery.asp and near the top find:
strORD=getUserInput(request("order"),4)
if NOT validNum(strORD) or trim(strORD)="" then
strORD=3
end if

change that to:
strORD=getUserInput(request("order"),4)
if NOT validNum(strORD) or trim(strORD)="" then
strORD=strPrdOrd
end if
if NOT validNum(strORD) or trim(strORD)="" then
strORD=3
end if

While looking into this and something else, I stumbled upon another similar bug in here.

Say you make a link to a brand using only its brand ID (showsearchresults.asp?IDBrand=1). The links on the paginated page navigation will now ignore default settings for the number of items to show on the page and be set to 6 items per page.

To fix this, in the same file at almost the very top, find:

if (iPageSize="") then
iPageSize=6
end if
if (not IsNumeric(iPageSize)) then
iPageSize=6
end if

and change it to:
if (iPageSize="") OR (not IsNumeric(iPageSize)) then
iPageSize=(scPrdRow*scPrdRowsPerPage)
end if
if (not IsNumeric(iPageSize)) then
iPageSize=6
end if
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest
Guest
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 04-April-2012 at 1:30am
I should that in
iPageSize=6
the number "6" here is completely arbitrary and just a fail-safe as EI wrote the code. The revisions here shouldn't ever have to lean on this, but as it is a hard-coded value, one could change the 6 here to whatever they want to be the setting of "last resort" as it were.


Edited by Sean@WMS - 04-April-2012 at 1:36am
Back to Top
gerryreid View Drop Down
Newbie
Newbie
Avatar

Joined: 22-August-2012
Location: USA, CA
Status: Offline
Points: 0
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote gerryreid Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22-August-2012 at 9:33pm
I Think that all worth configuring, but it would be more prospective when you categorize every brand pages. 
Back to Top
GreggS View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 06-February-2012
Location: New Jersey
Status: Offline
Points: 60
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote GreggS Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15-February-2013 at 11:52am
We are in the process now of redirecting our old pages to our new pages.  I saw this page on the wiki on how to redirect the home page using code but that was just the home page.  My boss gave me access to the web host control panel which allows me to redirect page by page.  Our old site was built mainly around brands.  So I've been redirecting our old pages which are mainly index.htm pages to the brands "pages" on our new site. One of the first things I discovered with ProductCart is that anything under the view brands page are not actually pages but search results.  I figured pointing to there would be fine, but after a few days some of our old index pages that ranked well on google now fell off.

Example: if you search "Ascaso" in google, our old index page ranked 2nd.  Now that page is gone.  (There currently is a sub index page for "grinders" there but that might disappear shortly too)

I'm assuming that a showsearchresults.asp like this

http://www.1st-line.com/store/pc/showsearchresults.asp?idcategory=84&priceFrom=0&priceUntil=999999999&sku=&IDBrand=1&keyWord=&customfield=0&IDSale=0&resultCnt=15&order=2&Submit.x=46&Submit.y=9


or even something shorter like

http://www.1st-line.com/store/pc/showsearchresults.asp?idcategory=84&IDBrand=1


is not an actual page that google will rank.

I'm starting to build a category for brands and going to re-redirect the old index pages.  I have a couple concerns.  In the control panel you put the old page you want to redirect, the new page you want to redirect to and there's a option that says " A permanent redirection for this resource."  If I delete the redirect will the old page show up or are they now permanently redirected?


Edited by GreggS - 15-February-2013 at 12:17pm
Back to Top
Guests View Drop Down
Guest
Guest
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Guests Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 15-February-2013 at 1:12pm
Hi Gregg,

This does seem to cause confusion with folks -- that brand "pages" are actually just search result pages (showsearchresults.asp?IDBrand=1 is all that is needed). It would be nice to have actual brand pages (complete with customizable meta title and description fields and a field for description/copy content).

To answer your question:
Quote
I'm starting to build a category for brands and going to re-redirect the old index pages.  I have a couple concerns.  In the control panel you put the old page you want to redirect, the new page you want to redirect to and there's a option that says " A permanent redirection for this resource."  If I delete the redirect will the old page show up or are they now permanently redirected?

No. A "permanent redirect" is a 301 redirect -- but a redirect nonetheless. So, if you delete it, either the old page will resolve again, or a 404 status will occur.
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 12.04
Copyright ©2001-2021 Web Wiz Ltd.

This page was generated in 0.078 seconds.