![]() |
Unique menu for each category |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Author | |
caughlan ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 25-September-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
its a pretty common in this industry to do navigation this way. The top horizontal nav stays the same, but the left navigation is specific to your category.
http://www.bathandbodyworks.com/category/index.jsp?categoryId=2484525 http://store.crabtree-evelyn.com/bath-and-body.html |
|
![]() |
|
caughlan ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 25-September-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
<%if session("customerType")="1" then%>
<!--#include file="inc_WholeSaleCatMenu.inc"--> <%else%> <!--#include file="inc_RetailCatMenu.inc"--> <%end if%> <% if pIdCategory=100 then %> I'm going to play around with these statements and see if I can get what I'm looking for. I don't want to lose a unique menu for my wholesalers, but i hope that's easy to avoid... thx |
|
![]() |
|
Hamish ![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 12-October-2006 Location: United Kingdom Status: Offline Points: 56 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi Cauglan, if you have quite a few categories you could try something like :-
<%select case pIdCategory%> <%case 1 %> <!--#include file="inc_Menu1.inc"--> <%case 2 %> <!--#include file="inc_Menu2.inc"--> <%case 3 %> <!--#include file="inc_Menu3.inc"--> <%case else %> <!--#include file="inc_MenuAll.inc"--> <% end select %> |
|
![]() |
|
caughlan ![]() Groupie ![]() ![]() Joined: 25-September-2006 Location: Canada Status: Offline Points: 0 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Thanks Hamish - what exactly would I write where you've written "select case" and "case 1" etc.
I assume I'm to change something there, but my biggest stumbling block is the exact language asp uses. I just finished figuring out php and ruby for two of my other sites, and my brain is on overload - any hand-holding would be greatly appreciated! stacelynn |
|
![]() |
|
Hamish ![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 12-October-2006 Location: United Kingdom Status: Offline Points: 56 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Hi,
![]() If you have php & ruby under your belt then vbscript will be stright forward I would think - once your brain's recovered a bit ![]() To find out more about vbscript then visit http://www.w3schools.com/Vbscript/default.asp It's a traditional procedural language & to distinguish it from the HTML etc it's encapsulated in <% %> - Not necessarily, in fact preferably not, around each individual line. There's also SQL & Javascript in the files as well. |
|
![]() |
|
Hamish ![]() Admin Group ![]() Joined: 12-October-2006 Location: United Kingdom Status: Offline Points: 56 |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
The "select case" statement gives the name of a variable and then each "Case" test checks the value of that variable until a match is found and then executes that piece of code. If no match is found then, if present, "case else" is executed.
|
|
![]() |
Post Reply ![]() |
Page <12 |
Tweet
|
Forum Jump | Forum Permissions ![]() You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot create polls in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum |