ProductCart E-Commerce Solutions Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ProductCart > Search Engine Optimization
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Friendly URLs with ISAPI Rewrite

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote slinc Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Friendly URLs with ISAPI Rewrite
    Posted: 08-December-2007 at 4:23pm
I posted recently that we had modified Product Cart in order to use ISAPI rewritting to make our URL's much cleaner. After getting several request as to how we did it I thought I would post a few highlights of what had to be done for the community. I am not a professional programmer so anything I have done could possibly be improved on. I HIGHLY recommend that Product Cart add this to their future versions.

The below information will convert:
domain.com/category/uniquename
domain.com/products/uniquename
domain.com/home/uniquename

into

domain.com/pc/viewCategories.asp?idCategory=uniquename
domain.com/pc/viewprd.asp?idproduct=uniquename
domain.com/pc/viewcontent.asp?idpage=uniquename

1.     Install Helicon Tech's ISAPI Rewriter program - www.helicontech.com - You will need either a dedicated server or a hosted server with some type of ISAPI rewriter installed.

2.     Create some Rewrite Rules based on their instructions. If you need help use their support forum it is great. Mine are similar to this:
RewriteCond %{HTTP:Host} ^(.*\.)?domain\.com$
RewriteRule ^/category/([^/.?]+)/?(?:\?(.*))?$ /pc/viewCategories.asp?idCategory=$1?2&$2: [NC,L]
RewriteRule ^/products/([^/.?]+)/?(?:\?(.*))?$ /pc/viewPrd.asp\?idproduct=$1?2&$2: [NC]
RewriteRule ^/home/([^/.?]+)/?(?:\?(.*))?$ /pc/viewcontent.asp?idpage=$1&$2: [NC,L]
RewriteRule ^/?(?:\?(.*))?$ /pc/home.asp?idpage=&$1?2&$2: [NC,L]