ProductCart E-Commerce Solutions Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > ProductCart > Getting Started
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

SSL Certificate

Post Reply Post Reply
Author

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote vppaul Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: SSL Certificate
    Posted: 17-April-2006 at 6:00am
I am a newbie and need help with my cart. What kind of Certificates are you guys using?
I get some free ones from my web host (IX webhosting). They have Comodo SSl,Shared SSL, Permanent Certificate or a Temporary Certificate. I guess that I would use a permanent certificate which I would have to go to Thawte, VeriSign or maybe Godaddy to get the Cert. Godaddy seems to have the cheapest ones starting at under 20.00 a year for their Turbo SSl. and 80.00 for their High Assurance SSL. I know that the higher the certificate the higher the verification but what does that mean to the people that will purchase items on my site?
One other question what about insurance for merchant accounts?
Paul
cptkoi View Drop Down

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote cptkoi Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27-April-2006 at 1:58pm

Your better of with your own cert although in all fairness as long as most people see a little padlock symbol somewhere they wont know the difference between your cert and soneone elses.

Likewise they wont know the difference between 56bit and 128.

Thawte also do a low assurance cert now.

Ive not seen specific insurance for merchant accounts, your business insurance may have an add on. The ownes is on you to ensure that the card is valid and the person placing the order is the owner. Any insurance would be invalid if you didnt cover this anyway.

"I need a hug, I need love, I need fun, I want to feel happy. Thats the world I want to live in!"
vppaul View Drop Down